Details in a Crowd

To say today was packed with excitement, emotion, and exhaustion would be such an understatement!  I was not expecting how much India can drain and yet re-energize us, over and over again!  We began today finishing cultural presentations, an opportunity to present on personal culture, and share a little about where we come from.  I know I was especially appreciative of the unique opportunity to learn about my classmates and friends, and understand more about what makes each individual who they are today.

By mid-afternoon, we began the scavenger photo hunt across Chennai and beyond.  The purpose was to encourage us to interact with locals and learn more about the culture in India.  With three hours, four teams were sent off on a mission to take photographs based on a list of clues to be judged by the bed and breakfast owners.  Each team had its own driver who helped us around the city, and in my team’s case, helped immensely in communicating with the local people and not getting lost!

IMG_0560 IMG_0573

One task  included trying on a saree (a traditional woman’s garment), which proved very difficult on the first try.  However, Courtney, Megan, Valerie, and I felt frustrated by rushing this clue, and decided to try again.  On our return, I purchased a saree, with generous help and investment from three women who showed a keen interest in us.  The women not only invested time picking out a saree that would best suit my skin color and style, but also placed great care in putting the saree on me, pleating and folding every inch of the beautiful fabric.  I was instantly reminded of how important it is to take the time to appreciate every moment, and make it beautiful.  The women worked with each other to complete my appearance, removing safety pins from their own sarees to pin to mine, and also removing the beautiful jasmine flowers from their hair to place in mine.  As we all observed the women, working so genuinely to include me in the culture, we couldn’t help but to be amazed and unbelievably fortunate for this special interaction.

IMG_0588

We finished the scavenger hunt by the beach, where we were generously served delicious food cooked by our lovely hosts at the bed and breakfast.  Rucha and Ashish’s hospitality and willingness to bring us into their home was special to us all!

2 thoughts on “Details in a Crowd

  1. It is truly amazing to see how welcoming others can be. Definitely a trait to bring back to DC. I love that you decided to take your time and return to the saree task!

Leave a comment